Chautauqua Symphony Orchestra: “Pictures at an Exhibition”

Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Location Amphitheater

$25–35, Preferred seating available, gate pass or event ticket required

$25 General Admission
(Included with a valid Chautauqua Institution gate pass)
$35 Preferred 2
($10 for those who already have a gate pass for the day)

Purchase Tickets

Into the Music No. 4

JoAnn Falletta, conductor
Orion Weiss, piano
Shai Wosner, piano

Jeremy Gill: Concerto d'avorio (World Premiere)
Mussorgsky/Ravel: Pictures at an Exhibition

This concert will be performed without an intermission.

Jeremy Gill: Concerto d'avorio

Maestro Milanov and the Chautauqua Symphony Orchestra are thrilled to partner with the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and Music Director JoAnn Falletta on this world premiere. To be performed with Maestro Falletta on the BPO’s 2019–2020 season, Jeremy Gill’s Concerto d'avorio is written for two soloists with a combined four hands, requiring both to perform seamlessly on one shared piano. The work’s title is inspired by a passage from Argentinian writer Jorge Luis Borges (1899–1986) which focuses on part of Virgil's Aeneid. In the Aeneid, there are two separate gates through which dreams are said to pass from the underworld to the human (“real”) world — one made of horn, allowing only the truth to pass through, and the other made of ivory (d’avorio), through which only dreams and fantasies may pass. Borges, however, explores an apparent enigma: when the Aeneid’s protagonist, hailing originally from the human world but currently wandering in the underworld, comes across the two gates and must choose which will return him to the human world, the gate that transports him back to “reality” ends up surprisingly as the one made of d’avorio.