The Chautauqua Prize 2021 Finalists

Chautauqua Institution is pleased to announce eight exceptional books as the 2021 finalists for The Chautauqua Prize, now in its tenth year:

Biss Eula HavingAndBeingHad

Erdrich Louise TheNightWatchman

Evans Danielle OfficeOfHistoricalCorrections

Gyasi Yaa TranscendentKingdom

Having and Being Had
by Eula Biss
(Riverhead Books)

The Night Watchman
by Louise Erdrich
(Harper Collins)

The Office of Historical Corrections: A Novella and Stories
by Danielle Evans
(Riverhead Books)

Transcendent Kingdom
by Yaa Gyasi
(Alfred A. Knopf)

 Krivak Andrew TheBear

 Trethewey Natasha MemorialDrive

 VanMeter Matthew DeepDeltaJustice

 Zhang Pam HowMuchOfTheseHillsIsGold

The Bear
by Andrew Krivak
(Bellevue Literary Press)

Memorial Drive: A Daughter’s Memoir
by Natasha Trethewey

Deep Delta Justice: A Black Teen, His Lawyer, and Their Groundbreaking Battle for Civil Rights in the South
by Matthew Van Meter
(Little, Brown)

How Much of These Hills is Gold
by C Pam Zhang
(Riverhead Books)