Chautauqua Institution’s Board of Trustees elected Izumi Hara, Terrance N. Horner Jr., Sarah Hagen McWilliams and Richard R. Wade to four-year terms of service at the body’s final meeting of the 2019 season on Aug. 24. The new class officially begins their terms today, Tuesday, Oct. 1, along with newly elected chair Candace (Candy) Littell Maxwell, whose appointment was approved at the board’s May 4 meeting, and Marnette Perry, who was elected as vice chair at the August meeting.

“As I begin my first term as chair, it is an honor to welcome these brilliant new voices to our trustee table, and to build on the remarkable work and devoted service of those colleagues who have come before us,” Maxwell said. “I’m excited to welcome four individuals as accomplished and credentialed as Izumi, Terry, Sarah and Dick to help Chautauqua realize the promise of opportunities outlined in our new strategic plan.”

Hara, of Montclair, New Jersey, is a retired corporate attorney in the life sciences industry, most recently at Warner Chilcott PLC (now part of Allergan), where she was senior vice president and general counsel. She serves as board chair of the YMCA of Montclair and on the board of the American Red Cross, Northern New Jersey Chapter.

Horner, of Washington, D.C., is assistant director and product owner for engagement systems at the United States Government Accountability Office, the Congressional watchdog agency. He is a native of Jamestown, New York.

McWilliams, of Millboro, Virginia, is a retired clinical social worker who now works as a community volunteer, grant writer, fundraiser and private investor. Originally from nearby Erie, Pennsylvania, McWilliams also serves a number of other boards, including as a trustee of the Erie Community Foundation.

Wade, of Fountain Hills, Arizona, is retired from JPMorgan Chase following 36 years of service. At the time of his retirement he was the Chief Risk Officer of the commercial bank. He currently also serves on the Chautauqua Foundation Board.

Maxwell, of Baltimore, is a retired health care industry executive with diverse experience in business strategy, leadership, governance and policy. She has been coming to Chautauqua every summer assembly season since 2001, and previously served as a trustee from 2010 to 2018, contributing to a number of the board’s standing and special committees and working groups. Her contributions to the Presidential Search Committee were essential to the selection and appointment of Michael E. Hill as the 18th, and current, president of Chautauqua Institution.

Perry, of Naples, Florida, is recently retired following a 45-year career at the Kroger Company, where for several decades she was the highest-ranking female executive. She has served on the Chautauqua board since 2017, and currently chairs its Human Resources & Compensation Committee.

See the full listing of Chautauqua Institution trustees, along with committee assignments and other resources, on our Board of Trustees page at