The Chautauqua Prize 2019 Finalists

Chautauqua Institution is pleased to announce seven exceptional books as the 2019 finalists for The Chautauqua Prize, now in its eighth year:

CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 Little

CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 TheThreeEscapesOfHannahArendt

CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 Heavy

CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 TheOverstory

by Edward Carey
(Riverhead Books)

The Three Escapes of Hannah Arendt: A Tyranny of Truth
by Ken Krimstein  (Bloomsbury)

Heavy: An American Memoir
by Kiese Laymon

The Overstory 
by Richard Powers
(W.W. Norton)

 CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 Rising

 CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 AllTheNamesTheyUsedForGod

 CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 MercySeat


Rising: Dispatches from the New American Shore
by Elizabeth Rush 
(Milkweed Editions)

All the Names They Used for God
by Anjali Sachdeva
(Spiegel & Grau)

The Mercy Seat
by Elizabeth H. Winthrop (Grove Press)