All the Names They Used for God Wins 2019 Chautauqua Prize

CHQPrize 2019 winner

Chautauqua Institution is delighted to announce Anjali Sachdeva’s All the Names They Used for God: Stories (Spiegel & Grau) as the 2019 winner of The Chautauqua Prize.

As author of the winning book, Sachdeva receives $7,500 and all travel and expenses for a summer residency at Chautauqua from Aug. 12 to 16, 2019. A public reading will take place at 3:30 p.m. Friday, Aug. 16, in the Hall of Philosophy on the Institution’s grounds.

Sachdeva said she was “incredibly grateful for all Chautauqua Institution has done to celebrate the arts and their potential to enrich our lives. To me, the Prize represents not only an amazing honor, but key support that will help me to continue writing.”

Chautauqua Institution President Michael E. Hill said awarding the Prize to Sachdeva’s book highlights the role of Chautauqua in fostering and celebrating both established and developing voices in the literary arts.

Press Kit:
Full press release | Book Cover | The Chautauqua Prize logo (pdf)

The Chautauqua Prize 2019 Finalists

Chautauqua Institution is pleased to announce seven exceptional books as the 2019 finalists for The Chautauqua Prize, now in its eighth year:

CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 Little

CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 TheThreeEscapesOfHannahArendt

CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 Heavy

CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 TheOverstory

by Edward Carey
(Riverhead Books)

The Three Escapes of Hannah Arendt: A Tyranny of Truth
by Ken Krimstein  (Bloomsbury)

Heavy: An American Memoir
by Kiese Laymon

The Overstory 
by Richard Powers
(W.W. Norton)

 CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 Rising

 CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 AllTheNamesTheyUsedForGod

 CHQPrize Finalists web 2019 MercySeat


Rising: Dispatches from the New American Shore
by Elizabeth Rush 
(Milkweed Editions)

All the Names They Used for God
by Anjali Sachdeva
(Spiegel & Grau)

The Mercy Seat
by Elizabeth H. Winthrop (Grove Press)