CHQJanusPrize Sticker BW webThe Chautauqua Janus Prize will be awarded for the second time in the summer of 2019, celebrating an emerging writer’s single work of short fiction or nonfiction for daring formal and aesthetic innovations that upset and reorder readers’ imaginations. In addition to receiving a $5000 award, the winner gives a lecture on the grounds during the summer season and appears in a forthcoming issue of the literary journal Chautauqua. Eligibility and submission information can be found below under "Guidelines."

Named for Janus, the Roman god who looks to both the past and the future, the prize will honor writing with a command of craft that renovates our understandings of both. The prize is funded by a generous donation from Barbara and Twig Branch.


2019 Janus Prize Finalists

Congratulations to the eight finalists selected by our readers! The winner will be announced via Facebook Live @chqliteraryarts during #AWP2019 in Portland! #CHQatAWP

Lucy Biederman

Jonathan Escoffery

Afsheen Farhadi

Taraka Hamada

Leah Hampton

Kelsey Peterson

Brenda Peynado

My Tran

Vi Khi NaoThe 2019 Chautauqua Janus Prize guest judge is Vi Khi Nao. Nao is the author of Sheep Machine, Umbilical Hospital, A Brief Alphabet of Torture (winner of FC2’s Ronald Sukenick Innovative Fiction Prize in 2016), the novel Fish in Exile, and the poetry collection The Old Philosopher (winner of the Nightboat Books Prize for Poetry in 2014). Her work includes poetry, fiction, film and cross-genre collaboration. Her stories, poems and drawings have appeared in NOON, Ploughshares, Black Warrior Review and BOMB, among others. She will also be a writer-in-residence at Chautauqua Writers’ Center during the 2019 summer season. (Learn more about her workshop here!)