The chaplains for the 2020 season will once again represent intended theological, denominational, gender, racial and ethnic diversity, as well as ministerial context. As always, the Department of Religion’s commitment to diversity in gender, race and theological perspective is clear. The philosophy of the Department of Religion, from the beginning, has embraced and manifested the belief that an expression of these diversities is key to Chautauqua’s future.

 

MargaretTipper

The Rev. Dr. Margaret Bullitt-Jonas

Episcopal priest, author, retreat leader and climate activist

Sunday, June 28, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, June 29–Friday, July 3, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week One

Location: Amphitheater

View Details

 

Traci Blackmon

The Rev. Traci deVon Blackmon

Associate General Minister of Justice and Local Church Ministries for The United Church of Christ and Senior Pastor of Christ The King United Church of Christ in Florissant, MO

Sunday, July 5, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, July 6–Friday, July 10, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week Two

Location: Amphitheater

View Details

 

GregBoyle

Fr. Greg Boyle, SJ

founder, Homeboy Industries in Los Angeles, California

Sunday, July 12, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, July 13–Friday, July 17, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week Three

Location: Amphitheater

View Details

  

RabbiDavidWolpe

Rabbi David Wolpe

Max Webb Senior Rabbi of Sinai Temple

Sunday, July 19, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, July 20–Friday, July 24, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week Four

Location: Amphitheater

View Details

 

JaneBroderick

The Rev. Janet Broderick

8th Rector of All Saints’ Episcopal Church in Beverly Hills

Sunday, July 26, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, July 27–Friday, July 31, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week Five

Location: Amphitheater

View Details

 

LeslieCallahan

The Rev. Dr. Leslie D. Callahan

First female pastor to serve at the historic St. Paul's Baptist Church in Philidelphia, Pennsylvania

Sunday, August 2, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, August 3–Friday, August 7, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week Six

Location: Amphitheater

View Details

 

BaggottRev. Dr. Casey Baggott and Rev. Dr. Robert Baggott

The Community Church of Vero Beach

Sunday, August 9, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, August 10–Friday, August 14, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week Seven

Location: Amphitheater

 View Details

 

BrianMcLaren

Brian D. McLaren

Author, speaker, activist and public theologian

Sunday, August 16, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, August 17–Friday, August 21, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week Eight

Location: Amphitheater

View Details

 

BenChiaras

Pastor Ben Cachiaras

Lead Pastor, Mountain Christian Church in Baltimore, Maryland

Sunday, August 23, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Monday, August 24–Friday, August 28, 2020 | 9:15 a.m.
Week Nine

Location: Amphitheater

View Details

  

2017 Gene Robinson 01 5x7 thumbnail

The Rt. Rev. V. Gene Robinson

Vice President of Religion and Senior Pastor, Chautauqua Institution

Closing Sunday, August 30, 2020 | 10:45 a.m.
Week Nine

Location: Amphitheater

View Details