Chautauqua Prize Ceremony and Reading

Monday, August 10, 2020
03:30pm EDT

Location CHQ Assembly Video Platform

CHQ Assembly events are free with 30-day trial subscription.

Watch Now

For its ninth Chautauqua Prize celebration, Chautauqua Institution is thrilled to host and recognize the author of the 2020 winning novel, Out of Darkness, Shining Light, Petina Gappah on Monday, August 10, 2020 at 3:30 PM EST on the Chautauqua Assembly. Gappah will give a lecture and a reading.

Gappah is a widely translated Zimbabwean writer who was born in Zambia. She is the author of two novels, Out of Darkness, Shining Light and The Book of Memory; and two short story collections, Rotten Row and An Elegy for Easterly. Her first play, based on the collection Rotten Row, was recently preformed in Zimbabwe. She is the recipient of the Guardian First Book Award, the McKitterick Prize from the Society of Authors, and a National Arts Merit Award from her native Zimbabwe. Her work has also been short-listed for, among others, the Orwell Prize, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, the PEN/Open Book Award and the Prix Femina Etranger. Most recently, Out of Darkness Shining Light was a finalist for the NAACP Image Awards.