SIR2017 banner web 2

2017 Scholar: Linda Greenhouse

Tuesday, July 25 – Thursday, July 27
8:30 - 10:15 AM at Smith Wilkes Hall


Overarching theme:

The Supreme Court has been front and center in the news this year. This course will go behind the news to consider the Court from a different perspective. We will examine the Court’s role in setting the nation’s legal—and inevitably, its political—agenda. We’ll explore how the Justices acquire the information they need to decide complex cases. And finally, we will look at the confirmation process to see whether it is broken beyond repair.

Suggested reading for general background:
The U.S. Supreme Court: A Very Short Introduction, Linda Greenhouse, Oxford University Press (2012)


Day 1: 

The Court's Agenda—and ours—How do the Justices select 70 cases a year from the 8,000 appeals that reach them? The Supreme Court’s agenda-setting function is the most under-appreciated, least transparent aspect of the Court’s work. We will turn a lens on the Roberts Court to better understand the significance of “deciding what to decide.”

Suggested reading:
Is It Important to be Important: Evaluating the Supreme Court’s Case-Selection Process, Frederick Schauer, Yale Law Journal (2009)


Day 2:

Voices at the Court—How do the Justices acquire the information they need? We will tune in to the voices that reach the Court through briefs and oral arguments. We’ll examine the role of the elite Supreme Court bar and of the increasing number of “friends of the court” that some believe have too much leeway to base arguments on unproven facts.

Suggested reading:
The Echo Chamber, Joan Biskupic, Reuters Special Report (December 2014)


Day 3:

The confirmation process—Is it irretrievably broken? What might a rational nomination and confirmation process look like, and how did we stray so far into the political wilderness? We will consider what changes, if any, might get the process on a different track.

Suggested reading:
Questioning Justice: Law and Politics in Supreme Court Confirmation Hearings, Robert Post and Reva Siegel, Yale Law Journal (2006)

About the Facilitator

LindaGreenhouse webLinda Greenhouse is the Joseph Goldstein Lecturer in Law and Knight Distinguished Journalist in Residence at Yale Law School. From 1978 to 2008, she was the Supreme Court correspondent for the New York Times and currently writes a bi-weekly op-ed column for the Times as a contributing writer.

She received several major journalism awards during a 40-year career at the Times, including a Pulitzer Prize in 1998 and the Goldsmith Career Award for Excellence in Journalism from the Harvard Kennedy School in 2004. In 2002, the American Political Science Association gave her its Carey McWilliams Award for “a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics.”

Greenhouse is one of two non-lawyers elected to honorary membership in the American Law Institute, which in 2002 awarded her its Henry Friendly Medal. She serves on the council of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and on the national senate of Phi Beta Kappa. This year, she assumed the presidency of the American Philosophical Society, the first woman to head the country’s oldest learned society since its founding by Benjamin Franklin 274 years ago.

Her publications include Becoming Justice Blackmun (2005); Before Roe v. Wade: Voices that Shaped the Abortion Debate Before the Supreme Court's Ruling (with Reva B. Siegel, 2010); The U.S. Supreme Court, A Very Short Introduction (2012); and The Burger Court and the Rise of the Judicial Right (with Michael J. Graetz, 2016). A memoir, Just a Journalist, will be published in fall 2017 by Harvard University Press.

Greenhouse is a graduate of Radcliffe College (Harvard), and earned a Master of Studies in Law degree from Yale Law School, which she attended on a Ford Foundation fellowship.

You can donate shares of stocks or mutual funds to Chautauqua Institution or Chautauqua Foundation. Please notify the Office of Advancement at (716) 357-6465 before you initiate the transfer of your stock gift. It is our only way of identifying who the gift is from and we would like to thank you!

Stock Gifts

Please use the following instructions for any stock gifts you would like to make to the annual Chautauqua Fund, or for gifts to Chautauqua Foundation's endowment. Click here.

Muriel Siebert & Co., Inc.
Jersey City Office
111 Town Square Place, Suite 310
Jersey City, NJ 07310 

Fax: 201-239-5749

DTC #0226 
Chautauqua Foundation account CXT-369330 
Federal ID #16-6028421

Mutual Funds

While the process of gifting stock is easily done, gifting mutual fund shares requires additional administrative effort on the part of the donor and the Foundation. We recommend advanced preparation when the timing of a gift is critical. Typically you will have to provide the mutual fund written instructions to make the transfer (although requirements may vary among mutual fund sponsors). This letter requires the signature of all account owner(s) and will have to be guaranteed by a bank or brokerage firm. Click here for a sample letter.

Capital Gifts

If you would like to make a gift of securities towards a capital gift to Chautauqua Institution, please contact the Office of Advancement at (716) 357-6465 and notify the organization when you initiate the transfer of the securities; it is our only way of identifying who the gift is from and we would like to thank you!


It is rare that in the course of our everyday actions we have the unique opportunity to so directly shape the life of a young person and to help propel his or her artistic future. And yet, that is precisely what a scholarship gift does.

The students who are enrolled in the Schools of Performing and Visual Arts provide the energy and vibrancy CHQ welcomes and celebrates each summer. Philanthropy makes possible the continued flow of fresh talent and creative vigor that is at the heart of the CHQ experience.

Currently, approximately 85% of the students enrolled at CHQ will receive financial aid with the average scholarship award covering about 65% of their overall cost to attend. The average cost of tuition, room and board–which varies slightly based on the program in which the student is enrolled–is approximately $3,500. It is an ongoing challenge to ensure that all students–regardless of their economic means–have the opportunity to study their craft and excel in their creative endeavors at CHQ.

Extraordinary talent and desire bear no relation to financial means. Countless CHQ dancers, musicians, actors, artists, writers and singers have come to study here from limited financial backgrounds, then have gone on to achieve prominence in their art forms. 


"I think what makes Chautauqua unique is the communal environment. ... The students feel very close to one another and support each other. I remember many of my friends attending my performances and master classes, which displays the supportive atmosphere at Chautauqua. The high level of faculty inspired me to do my best, and although I worked hard, I enjoyed every moment.”

—Karin Theobald, Music School Festival Orchestra

Did you discover CHQ through friends or family who invited you to experience this community as a guest in their home? If you would like to thank your host for their hospitality, please consider making a gift to the Chautauqua Fund in their honor.

From morning worship to the evening performances—and the wonderful moments in between—CHQ offers numerous opportunities to engage, reflect and explore. All these moments are made possible thanks to generous support. To have an immediate impact on the innovation and quality of programs found at CHQ, please make a gift including your host’s name so CHQ may share your appreciation with them.