In addition to Department of Religion programs, Denominational Houses and religious organizations at Chautauqua Institution offer religious services, lectures and low-cost housing options during the nine-week CHQ Season.

The term “denomination” in CHQ usage is a very inclusive term meaning an institutional faith organization. The 16 denominations at CHQ include the Baha’i Faith, Baptist, Catholic, Christian Science, the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Episcopal, Chabad-Lubavitch Community (Orthodox Jewish), Hebrew Congregation (Reform Jewish), Lutheran, Metropolitan Community Fellowship, Presbyterian, the Religious Society of Friends (Quaker), United Church of Christ (UCC), United Methodist, Unitarian Universalist Fellowship(UU) and Unity. Eleven of these denominations have Denominational Houses on the grounds.

Religious organizations (not denominations) at CHQ that offer religious services, programming and/or housing include the International Order of the King’s Daughters and Sons (IOKDS), Chautauqua Christian Fellowship (CCF), and the Ecumenical Community of Chautauqua (ECOC).

Please use the contact information below for more information about programming and accommodations.

Baha'i Faith 

Rick Snyder Chair 716.372.3663

Baptist House

Katie White Host 716.357.3671 (Season)

Catholic House

Deacon Ray and Pat Defendorf Hosts 716.357.4646
Pat Defendorf Registrar / Lottery 607.426.1150
Jeanne Hatheway Off-Season Rental 716.269.9300

Chabad Lubavitch of Chautauqua

Rabbi Zalman Vilenkin Spiritual Leader 917.364.1013
716.357.3467 (Season)
Barry R. Perlis President  

Chautauqua Association Disciples of Christ (CADC) "Disciples Houses"

David Lollis CADC Administrator 716.581.3212
716.357.4263 (Season)

Chautauqua Christian Fellowship

Francie Pickens Oliver Chair 512.587.8120
716.357.2711 (Season)

Christian Science House and Chapel | 716.357.2334 (Season)

Rick Knowles President 702.280.0348

Ecumenical Community of Chautauqua

Lois and Nels Sandberg Managers (Weeks 1-5) 716.357.3814
John and Kathy Woods Managers (Weeks 6-9) 330.565.2923
E. Carol Maxwell Registrar 716.581.3659
Rev. Ed Hann President  

Episcopal Cottage | 716.357.3673 (May 1–Sept. 1)

Theodore Wilson Host 216.374.3875 (May 1–Sept. 1)
Mary Jane McKnight In-Season Reservations 585.350.9436
Joyce Brasted Off-Season Rentals 716.581.3903
Glenn Chichester General Inquiries 814.504.9854
Victoria Bauer Board Chair  

Everett Jewish Life Center at Chautauqua (EJLCC)

Bobbie/Joe Lewis Hosts 716.357.2077 (Season)

Hebrew Congregation at Chautauqua

Renee Andrews President 716.357.0002 (Season)

Hurlbut Memorial Community United Methodist Church

Rev. Carmen Perry Pastor 716.357.4045

International Order of the King's Daughters and Sons (IOKDS)

Vickie Carter Scholarship Program Director  

Lutheran House

Jerry and Sue Keppel Hosts 716.837.4602
716.357.2135 (Season)

Presbyterian House

Merrilee Harrington Manager 716.640.0720
716.357.5011 (Season)

Religious Society of Friends (Quakers)

Deborah First  Co-Chair 716.357.5937
Sue Tannehill   Co-Chair 716.406.8495

Unitarian Universalist Fellowship

Dave Bower Registrar  
Roger Doebke President
Brigitte Popelars and Chris Perry Season Hosts  716.357.8169 (Season)

Chautauqua UCC Society (United Church of Christ)
Mayflower House, Reformed Church House, Headquarters Building

John Rodgers Chaplain Administrator 716.357.5491 (Season)
Grace Lipman Registrar 561.714.6779
716.357.5491 (Season)

United Methodist House

Bob and Karen Douds Hosts 412.795.3276
716.357.2055 (Season)

United Methodist Missionary Vacation Home

Rev. Paul Womack & Rev. Natalie Hanson Hosts 716.807.1728

Fenton Memorial Deaconess Home

Scott Vickery Host 212.870.3761

Unity of Chautauqua

Rev. Ron Neff Minister 727.543.3869
Jo-An Webb President