For the first time ever, the Chautauqua Writers’ Center is sponsoring a fall poetry workshop, led by former poet-in-residence Neil Shepard.

This 12-person workshop will be held from Sept. 28 – Oct. 2.

Each five-day workshop is taught by an experienced, published writer-in-residence in a small group setting. All workshops are held on the second floor of the Literary Arts Center at Alumni Hall. (Located on the south end of the grounds on Wythe Ave. across from the Hall of Philosophy.)

Registration begins on April 10, 2018. Details can be found in the Registration tab below, and those planning their first visit to Chautauqua should strongly consider our housing scholarship (deadline March 31, 2018).

As workshop descriptions are announced, each will clarify which of these models that workshop will employ:

  1. Generative Workshops: Enrollment is capped at twelve (12), and the primary focus is on in-class exercises and optional take-home prompts; ideal for writers looking for new ways to reinvigorate their writing practices throughout the year, learning tactics and strategies from our writers-in-residence. Useful for novice and experienced writers alike. $115.
  2. Critique-and-Revision Workshops: Enrollment is capped at eight (8), and the primary focus is on careful reading and response for everyone's submitted manuscripts, though writers-in-residence may also dedicate time to employing alternative revision strategies; ideal for dedicated writers hoping to elevate their manuscripts to the next level. $150.
  3. Flexible Workshops: Enrollment is capped at twelve (12), and though most generative opportunities will be found in optional take-home prompts, limited in-class writing will likely accompany a focus on the study of craft through exemplary key texts and at least some careful reading and critique of everyone's writing (whether it was written last year or in response to an optional take-home prompt). $115.



Registration for all workshops begins in April. Courses are available for writers at many stages of experience and development, though students must be at least 18 to enroll. Those planning their first visit to Chautauqua should strongly consider our housing scholarship (deadline March 31).

A $5 fee is added to all orders placed online, by mail, or by telephone.

Register online @

Register by phone: 716.357.6250. Please have all registration information ready before calling. Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover are all accepted.

Pre-register by mail: Use the registration form in any print copy of the Special Studies Catalog, enclosing full payment and mailing to:

Special Studies 
PO Box 28 
Chautauqua, New York 14722

To receive a print catalog in the mail, please email or call 716.357.6200.

Register in-person: Walk-in registrations will be accepted at the Main Gate Ticket Office, Visitors Center, and Special Studies Office at Hultquist Center.

This list includes writers in residence for the Chautauqua Writers’ Center from 1988 through the current year.




Kathleen Aguero
Maggie Anderson
James Armstrong
David Baker
Ansie Baird
Jan Beatty
Erin Belieu
Bruce Bennett
Catherine Bowman
Philip Brady
Douglas Carlson
David Chin
David Citino
Charles Coe
Brad Comann
Helen Conkling
Geraldine Connolly
Nicole Cooley
Robert Cording
Stephen Corey
Gerald Costanzo
Jim Daniels
Todd Davis
Taylor Davy
Mark DeFoe
Chard deNiord

Carl Dennis
Gregory Donovan
Stephen Dunn
Richard Foerster
Alice Fogel
Carol Frost
Pamela Gemin
Diana Hume George
Danielle Legros Georges
Margaret Gibson
Douglas Goetsch
Ari Goldman
Kent Gramm
William Greenway
Susan Grimm
Emily Grosholz
Mac Sawyer Hammond
Jeffrey Harrison
Stephen Haven
David Havird
Terrance Hayes
William H. Heyen
Rick Hilles
John Hoppenthaler
Akua Lezli Hope
Mary Jean Irion

Lori Jakiela
Julia Spicher Kasdorf
Laura Kasischke
Jim Kates
Susan Kinsolving
Judith Kitchen
Nancy Krygowski
Greg Kuzma
Richard Lehnert
George Looney
Dan Masterson
Shara McCallum
Michael McFee
Marjorie Maddox
Charlotte Matthews
Jo McDugall
Samuel Menashe
Wendy Mnookin
Veronica Morgan
Joan Murray
Andrew Mulvania
Aimee Nezhukumatathil
Rob Ostrom
Jackie Osherow
Alan Michael Parker
Molly Peacock

Kevin Pilkington
Lia Purpura
Nancy Reisman
Len Roberts
Liz Rosenberg
Stanley Rubin
Leslie Rubinkowski
Stephen Sandy
Neil Shepard
David Shumate
Mary McLaughlin Slechta
Elizabeth Stevens
Stephanie Strickland
Karen Swenson
Phil Terman
Elaine Terranova
Lewis Turco
Michael Waters
David Weiss
Gabriel Welsch
Julie Wendell
William Wenthe
Marjory Wentworth
Patricia Jabbeh Wesley
Carolyne Wright
Kevin Young



If you were a writer-in-residence for the Writers’ Center, but your name is not on this list, please let us know. Send your name, the year you taught, and the genre you taught to Director of Literary Arts Atom Atkinson at