For the first time ever, the Chautauqua Writers’ Center is sponsoring a fall poetry workshop, led by former poet-in-residence Neil Shepard.

This 12-person workshop will be held from Sept. 28 – Oct. 2.

Each five-day workshop is taught by an experienced, published writer-in-residence in a small group setting. Most classes are limited to just 12 participants. All workshops are held on the second floor of the Literary Arts Center at Alumni Hall. (Located on the south end of the grounds on Wythe Ave. across from the Hall of Philosophy.)

For specific questions regarding workshops, please contact Director of Literary Arts Atom Atkinson at

Registration begins in April. Call the ticket ofice at 716.357.6250 to register by phone or register online at You may also register at one of our ticketing windows at our Main Gate Welcome Center.

Weekly poetry and prose workshops have been the core of the Chautauqua Writers' Center for decades. Faculty members are selected not only for their national reputations and the quality of their work, but also for their ability to inspire developing writers to grow in their craft.

Week 1

Week 1 


Writer-in-Residence TBA
June 25  June 29 | 8:30 – 10:30 a.m.



Writer-in-Residence TBA
June 25  June 29 | 1:15 – 3:15 p.m.

This list includes writers in residence for the Chautauqua Writers’ Center from 1988 through the current year.




Kathleen Aguero
Maggie Anderson
James Armstrong
David Baker
Ansie Baird
Jan Beatty
Erin Belieu
Bruce Bennett
Catherine Bowman
Philip Brady
Douglas Carlson
David Chin
David Citino
Charles Coe
Brad Comann
Helen Conkling
Geraldine Connolly
Nicole Cooley
Robert Cording
Stephen Corey
Gerald Costanzo
Jim Daniels
Todd Davis
Taylor Davy
Mark DeFoe
Chard deNiord

Carl Dennis
Gregory Donovan
Stephen Dunn
Richard Foerster
Alice Fogel
Carol Frost
Pamela Gemin
Diana Hume George
Danielle Legros Georges
Margaret Gibson
Douglas Goetsch
Ari Goldman
Kent Gramm
William Greenway
Susan Grimm
Emily Grosholz
Mac Sawyer Hammond
Jeffrey Harrison
Stephen Haven
David Havird
Terrance Hayes
William H. Heyen
Rick Hilles
John Hoppenthaler
Akua Lezli Hope
Mary Jean Irion

Lori Jakiela
Julia Spicher Kasdorf
Laura Kasischke
Jim Kates
Susan Kinsolving
Judith Kitchen
Nancy Krygowski
Greg Kuzma
Richard Lehnert
George Looney
Dan Masterson
Shara McCallum
Michael McFee
Marjorie Maddox
Charlotte Matthews
Jo McDugall
Samuel Menashe
Wendy Mnookin
Veronica Morgan
Joan Murray
Andrew Mulvania
Aimee Nezhukumatathil
Rob Ostrom
Jackie Osherow
Alan Michael Parker
Molly Peacock

Kevin Pilkington
Lia Purpura
Nancy Reisman
Len Roberts
Liz Rosenberg
Stanley Rubin
Leslie Rubinkowski
Stephen Sandy
Neil Shepard
David Shumate
Mary McLaughlin Slechta
Elizabeth Stevens
Stephanie Strickland
Karen Swenson
Phil Terman
Elaine Terranova
Lewis Turco
Michael Waters
David Weiss
Gabriel Welsch
Julie Wendell
William Wenthe
Marjory Wentworth
Patricia Jabbeh Wesley
Carolyne Wright
Kevin Young



If you were a writer-in-residence for the Writers’ Center, but your name is not on this list, please let us know. Send your name, the year you taught, and the genre you taught to Director of Literary Arts Atom Atkinson at